Day 16 – A Sense of Order: Cultivating Contentment

“There is an immediate emotional and psychological payoff to getting our houses in order. We might not be able to control what’s happening externally in our lives but we can learn to look to our inner resources for a sense of comfort that nurtures and sustains.” Yep!

This is why it feels so much better to be in my house when everything is put away and cleaned off and in its place. That is the best way to relax.

With my husband spending more time around the house, I have definitely been able to reap the benefits of him working to clean and get our house in order….and work together to organize belongings.

So much of my 20’s (college and post-college) can fall into the category of chaos and absence of order. All too often, I allowed myself to put the needs, wants, and desires in front of mine and let them drive my life. It makes me cringe to think of this time – almost an entire decade – because I didn’t know how to take control or even recognize that this control needed to be taken.

I like order – I like meaning and I like purpose. Having a clean house allows me to think clearly, live fully and be in the best possible set of circumstances to live to my full potential.

I am so thankful my husband and I have created this kind of life, recognize the need for both of us to live this type of existence and have made it happen. And you know what, I wouldn’t appreciate it half as much had I have not experienced the chaos and realized that order and simplicity are worth striving for – necessary, even. And something that after quite a bit of time that I would realize. And I am so happy and loved…and safe.

Leave a Reply

