Day 31 – Embracing Joyful Simplicities

I’ve been harboring a little bit of resentment for SBB since day 3 or 4 of this project. I was glancing ahead and noticed the section “joyful simplicities for January” that follows Day 31. Well, I didn’t realize that Day 31 was called “embracing joyful simplicities”.

I was really just cranky because she wanted me to have collard greens, black eyed peas and cornbread for new years day…and I missed it. Even though I had begun the journey.

Well…I know she couldn’t begin the book with this post…because she had to build and introduce the prompts to get the reader to this point….this day…this embracing and doing the simple things.

So I’m going to take a chill pill and recognize that it’s the concept…it’s the ideas for doing simple things for me. Just for me…and finding joy in them. So I don’t need to check off everything on the list, nor would I want to, but they are ideas of things that I can and should be doing – things to do for me. To improve myself as well as amplify and improve my home and the world around me.

I love that Day 31 is all about making soup for dinner. I had been planning on making homemade broccoli cheese soup for the last week or so…and I would have done this on day 27 or 28…but then I got sick. And the days were too long and hard to just exist and go to work. So I was left with Saturday night…day 31. And I made Soup. And it was good.

And then I woke up on Day 32…and realized that SBB wanted me to make soup on Day 31…and I had. But I didn’t know that I was supposed to…but it just happened. And that makes me happy. Now, I was really tired and I didn’t enjoy each step like I would have had I ready this post.

But I did get to use a new kitchen gadget and I think a brought a special smile to my husband’s face as he watched me unwrap an immersion blender that I’ve had for a few years and has never been opened….and I found great joy in breaking that out, trying it out, and making a fabulous homemade dinner for my family.

I love it. And I can’t wait to do it again…to truly transform the art of cooking into a meaningful, joyful thing that I am choosing to do for my family and focusing on the good, creative parts of the task…to take it from mundane and taxing to a simple joy…and bask in the simple abundance of it all.

Leave a Reply

