Day 36: The World is Too Much with Us

Let me begin with this. I don’t want to be putting the cart before the horse or becoming a cliche…but my training for 7 Habits for Highly Effective People has changed me. Not just because I think it has cool ideas…ones that I will think of for a day and move away from…but one of those huge, seismic shifts that you can feel while you are experiencing.

You know…one of those moments where you can feel it in your soul that you’ve discovered something…a way of thinking, a way of living…and you you don’t want to live your life without it. I think that this training, along with Simple Abundance, came to me at a time when I needed them – when I was open to change and able to implement it and to truly change my life. And I am so excited.

I’m tired of living my life in a way that I’m just coasting through – not being fully engaged and not putting my focus and my efforts into what matters.

“We’re chronically exhausted from the ‘getting’ – the amount of energy spent earning a living and juggling the demands of home and career…there is a way for us to ransom our lives and reclaim our futures: it consists in turning away from the world to recognize what in life makes us truly happy…But once we obtain this inner knowledge, we will possess the ability to transform our outer world.”

This encapsulates exactly how I’ve been feeling – used up, tired, worn out and not having much to show for it. Sure, I have a good job…but I want to excel..and more importantly, I want a life…a full, rich life that minimizes the role my job plays in filling my life. I don’t want my job to be what fills it and gives it meaning and brings me satisfaction. I want my real life to be that. I think a lot of this is tied to not being in an environment or having the satisfaction or strength within myself to get here – to have those feelings and to be able to truly live my life.

SBB – I’m ready to put on the blinders so I can look within, make these assessments – find out what I like, want, and need…and to find it. I can feel myself cleaning my house…cleaning up the things that have been broken inside…and embracing the good things on the outside.

I had a wonderful, spontaneous dinner with friends tonight. An enjoyable dinner on a Wednesday. Heck, I even left work a bit early to go. And that is amazing. I don’t know if I would have as wholeheartedly embraced this a few weeks ago or urged my husband to make it happen. I’m glad I did…because I would have missed out on some great conversation and some killer french dips.

Leave a Reply

