Day 38: An Artist Is Someone Who Creates

I do not want to be known as someone who plays it safe. I definitely didn’t play it safe in my 20’s. But my path and my choices didn’t lead me down a healthy path. So I want to reclaim “playing it safe” and finally do it on my own terms.

I want to be spontaneous and embrace the unexpected in life. I’ve never been one to do what everyone else is doing or to make typical life decisions. I don’t want to start now. But I what I want to do is enable myself to leading myself down a positive path. I don’t want to have regrets…and I don’t want to look back at myself at a year..or five…or 50 and think…wow, she really wasted her time. She was ordinary.

Because you know what. I’m not ordinary. That may sound conceited or not humble or whatever you may think. But I am not ordinary. I don’t follow the normal path…no matter how much I may yearn for these typical, normal life steps…I just don’t have it within me to achieve them.

That’s probably why I’m married to a man 14 years my senior…who I secretly eloped with. Not because we are pregnant – we so aren’t. Or because we went to an exotic place to do it…we didn’t. We did it at noon on a Tuesday.

But you know what. I love my life. And I’m so thankful that I’m working on this project…of myself. I love that 2015 is the year of Claire. And I can’t wait until my book club meeting on Feb 15. I can’t wait to switch it up and meet some new people and discuss a book. So I’m committing right now to doing it. Weather, commitments and even illness be damned.

I’m in.

Leave a Reply

