Day 52 – Excavating the Real You, Part I

Ahhhh….the past.  That wiley little guy.  There is so much to learn from the past, so much one wants to forget. But the past is important becuase it informs the future.  You can change because of it, you can learn from it, you can even repeat it. But you have the choice to listen and learn and move ahead.  

However, what we have done before does not need to define us when we move ahead.  We are so much more than our past actions.  Often times, it is what we do becuase of the consequences or those choices that is where the real learning and experiencing begins.

Resilient. Foolish. Big Hearted. Optimistic. Crippled with anxiety. Passionate. In love. Driven. Motivated. Lucky.  Destiny.

Those are all things that I think about my past choices.  I don’t think I would take any amount of money to re-live my 20’s.  Not because it was too painful or too hard…because it was.  Not because there were no good times, laughter, and love…becuase there so were.  But I wouldn’t want to do it for fear that re-living what happened wouldn’t lead me back to where I am at today.  

I am so fortunate and so luck to have met my (beware of the cliches ahead) best friend and soul mate.  I confidently can say that I am with the person that I was destined to meet and fall in love with.  So no, I would not re-live that time.  And I can’t be too hard on myself for those choices that I made because not making any one of those may not have led me to my hustband and my happieness and where I am today.  And for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

