Day 60: A Day of Grace

Oh SBB, you’re getting all spiritual on us again. You know how I feel about that.

With that said, today’s prompt – one that comes once every four years – is a wonderful reminder to live in the moment today and focus on there here and now. We are resilient, we are strong, and we have the tools and solutions within ourselves.

We have enough to get through today and it is esssential to live today without worrying that there won’t be enough left for tomorrow. There will be. 

In a lot of ways, this is the mantra or frame of mind for combatting anxiety. Relax, focus on the here and now, be present to fully experience what is happening now. Tomorrow will bring what it may and I will be ready to handle it and rock it. Worrying today won’t influence or change tomorrow. 

This captures, so concisely and concretely, one of the things that challenges me the most – relaxing and acknowledging my anxiety and trying to figure out a way to quell it. I am proud to say that I’ve made huge strides in the last two years, and expecially the last three months in working through my anxiety. But it is a work in progress – and it will likely be a lifelong journey. My only hope is that the progress that I make today and the progress that I make overtime will make it a little easier in the future. Not only because I will have strategies for managing my anxiety but also because I will know what it means to feel good, to feel better, and to be “free” of it. Every day may not be perfect, but when you have gotten through the clouds of anxiety once, you know that you will be able to do it again. No, it may not be fun or pretty, but it is possible. And some days, that is enough.

Leave a Reply

