Day 62: Meditation: Many Paths to the Present Moment

I’ve been reticent to jump into meditation. Not because I don’t believe in its power but because I haven’t found a way to tangibly add it into my schedule. I feel like I have too much going on between working out, working, and spending the remaining time with my husband. For me, I think it is better to try and identify the ways and activities that are meditative or incorporate meditation to get to this silence and stillness within. As I ponder this, maybe I incorporate more meditative activities than I thought.

1. Runs. I don’t listen to music. I don’t listen to podcasts. In fact, most of the time I don’t have a device with music capabilities with me. I just let my mind wander or tune down and let it take me through my journey outside. Sometimes I brainstorm or work thorugh things, sometimes I think about what I’m going to eat when I get home or a future event that I’m looking forward to. Or I just zone out and embrace the silence.

2. Yoga. My intention while I’m doing yoga is to remain present. To be fully present with my body and to focus on my breath.

3. Writing in the morning. Allowing my mind to start off and be creative – to focus on SBB’s daily post and set the intention for my day. I find that when I carve in this time, have a better day. Much like how I feel better when I drink water or drink tea – this early meditative time is essential. 

Leave a Reply

