Day 71: Sending and Receiving Personal Signals

Part of me feels like I should not be willing to say YES!!!! To the sentiment of this daily dialogue, but this who project is about being honest, being vulnerable, and being real. But yes, I definitely experience inner joy when I look my best and feel my best.

It’s funny, I can remember this happening at times going back to elementary school. There was a time in 3rd or 4th grade when I had two pairs of dull pants – black and navy that were pretty utilitarian and were the only pants that fit me at that time. They were fine, but they were nothing special. It didn’t dawn on me to ask my mom and dad for some new clothes. For Christmas I received a lot of new clothing – and pants in particular – colorful, nice clothing. I remember the feeling of being so happy to receive this clothing, as well as I felt so much better when I was wearing them.

For the last 15 years or so, when I wear my glasses for the day instead of my contacts – especially on work days – I always feel that I am not quite my best and I can literally sense a mood change in my day – that I don’t feel as good as I can and I don’t look as good as I can.

I’m not one to put out all the stops to get presentable. I prefer a natural face and my hair blow dried straight, but on those days when I’m able to leave the house that way, I feel like I can conquer the world. Or, at least, I will look great until I work out at lunch, get sweaty, and need to put my hair up.

Leave a Reply

