Day 81: What is Self-Confidence?

Ok. One observation that slightly irks me about this book. Besides some of the religious overtones, there is very inconsistent copy editing. I know that I am sooooo not copy editing my writing as I go. Honestly, I’m just doing this as a more random thought, conscious flow of writing. But honestly, SBB, couldn’t you have consistent capitalization of words in the titles of your daily posts?

Ok, rant over.

Self-confidence vs. self-esteem

Self-esteem – loving, accepting, and approving of ourselves unconditionally. Believing that we are worthy of the love of others and the best that life has to offer.

Self-confidence – attitude, experience, knowledge, wisdom, optimism – the wisdom, tone, things that affect how we carry ourselves.

My childhood softball coach was a fantastic man – his motto/wisdom for us in 7th grade (kudos to him for sticking with us during that horrible time) was Attitude is Everything. Omg. It so is. Our outlook on life, the way we let external and internal matters affect us – have a tremendous impact on our outlook and how we project ourselves to the outside world. Self-confidence plays into the way we carry ourselves – walking, entering a room, making eye contact, having a conversation – and it is the way that we interact with others. Engaging in active listening, respect, grace, compassion, humility – things that I need to work on every single day. 

Sometimes I really doubt myself at work – I’m too young, I don’t have enough experience, I don’t know what it means to truly be a manger. But I have to ackhowlede those feelings and move forward from them. I know that I have a lot to learn. I know that I might not be the same as a seasoned 30 year manager. But I’m me, I’ve only been a manger for a year and I have a lot to learn. But I’m not going to shy away from trying to figure things out. To take trainings, have conversations, and do my best to grow my skills so I can best support my team and my team’s teams. I’m not going to throw in the towel and I’m not going to be defeated by this. I know that I have value to bring. I know I can support my team – I just need to give myself the space and the opportunity to gain experience, make less than perfect decisions, and figure out my style, my approach, and how I can best contribute. Because I know that I can…I just have to keep moving forward inch by inch, mile by mile. I’m in for the long haul – and I feel like I’ve just finished mile one. That first mile, in running and in managing, can be a toughie, a true learning opportunity. I’m not a quitter, I believe in hard work, and I will figure it out. Just like running, just like training. It gets easier every day – you figure things out that you use to move forward and apply to the next problem/situation/crisis. 

So here’s to moving forward. Every damn day.

Leave a Reply

