Day 84: The Secret Sabeteur: When You’re Feeling Blue

Full disclosure. I really did not want to go to work today. I’m sure that statement can apply to most of us but I REALLY. DID. NOT. WANT. TO. GO. TO. WORK. TODAY. Some days are just like that. 

But I pulled myself out of bed, talked myself through multiple alarms, and looked at my work calendar from bed. Nope, not an option to take a sick day. Even though I worked at a crazy pace this week. Even though I kicked ass. I still had to get up and keep working.

I wasn’t blue…or depressed…or whatever. I just am tired. Probably mentally tired more than anything. And it really would have been great if today had been Saturday. Or if I had gotten a three day weekend.

It’s funny that I experienced the sabeteur on the day that SBB was discussing this. No, I didn’t read ahead and make this happen. Today is all about recognizing that not every day is going to be the best day ever. We all have crappy days…that can turn into a string of days (and when that happens, it is absolutely ok and right to reach out and ask for help). But it is up to us to decide how we are going to let the rest of the bad day unfold. We can throw in our cards and wallow or indulge in the crappiness. Which is fine. More than fine – it is embracing the self-care and self love. We can also take action to shake it up. To try and dodge or shake off the crappiness. By out running it, or choosing to do something different. Really whatever it takes to shuffle the deck and keep moving forward.

I don’t think I did either one. I just did my normal day. And there was nothing wrong in particular, but being tired. I had wanted to literally outrun my schedule and the weather this evening by getting 8 miles in on a Friday night. But I realized that was crazy. 1. Because it started raining anyway. And 2. I’m really tired on Fridays. And runs are not fun when I’m super tired. And since this is a rest week, it’s ok to take it easy and get in the run when my body feels the best. That is definitely not Friday night.

On a good note, I got in my core and my ass exercises. So I did the minimum. And made energy balls. Woo-hoo for the balls.

Leave a Reply

