Day 93: Verve: The Secret of Personal Style

Oh, SBB. Another style post? Ugh. I’m tired of these. I feel like you need to give us women a little more credit – so. much. effing. emphasis. on. style.

But I get it it’s important to show your passion – to have passion in how you project yourself and how you dress yourself. I’m not sure if I want to shout from the rooftops my passion about business casual. But I will shout my passion about comfortable shoes, particularly running shoes. If you get to annoy me with more style, then I get to bring it back to running.

I just walked to my local running shop to pick up some new running shoes for trail running. I can’t remember if I mentioned this, but there is a trail run over Memorial Day weekend around Geneva Lake. My favorite place in the whole world. So I’m in. Sure, it will push my mileage, taking me the furthest that I’ve ever run/traveled, but I cannot wait for the challenge.

So, thus the quest for trail shoes. I not only want to do this run over Memorial Day, but I also want to do a half on Mt. Hood when I’m there in June for my BFF’s wedding. I don’t think it is a coincidence that there is a half marathon the day after my BFF’s wedding and the half doesn’t start until 10 am. Perfect. So I need to take the dive into trail running. So I bought some trail running shoes. Some Hoka ones. I think they may be amazing. My brother-in-law has been talking about Hokas for a couple of years and has highly recommended them, but I hadn’t taken the plunge until today. I was in the shoes for just a few mintues, but even walking around they felt amazing. I’m excited to test them out this week and to take them out for 12 next weekend. I have a feeling that they may be my new go-to.

SBB, here’s your passion. I’m not sure what my verve for running shoes says about me, but I don’t care. I’d rather find my passion in athletic gear and protect my feet. Sure, they may not be very attractive or the best color, but my feet would much rather be comfortable than win the fashion contest. 

Maybe my verve is in the functionality – comfort for my athletic gear, business casual for other things – I want versatility, bang for my buck, and I want to be comfortable where appropriate and professional and put together where appropriate.

Leave a Reply

