Day 103: Learning to Love and Honor Your Body

Yes! 

Sometimes we just need to be a little kinder to ourselves – and see ourselves through the rose colored glasses that our loved ones see us through. We need to afford ourself the ability to bask in our imperfect perfection – fall in love with ourselves just like we fall in love with our significant others. We need the grace to allow our extra plumpness – find the sexiness in those things – and to feel proud of them. To embrace them. To rock them.

It isn’t enough anymore to be apologetic for how we look. We need to throw aside apologies and strut into the room like the gods and goddesses that we are. Sure, I’d like to lose ~25 more pounds, but I look really great right now. Sure, I’d love for my butt to be a little bit smaller…or my thighs to be a little bit smaller. But you know what – they are larger than I’d like right now becuase of the muscle that I’ve built. I need this muscle to carry me 13+ miles. And eventually 26+ miles. When my default, my instinct is to see a large ass….I need to change that instinct to see one that is powerful, is strong, and can do things that most people don’t even fathom.

Life is way too short to be focused on an imperfect ideal – one that I will never attain…and one that I do not want to attain. So I’m over that. I want to celebrate my muscles, my stretch marks, my pale skin. They make me who I am. And I’m beautiful just the way I am. If I finally lose the ~25 lbs. That’s bonus…because it is taking me down a healthy path. But my self worth and my sense of self and beauty is not tied to that 25 lbs. I want to feel good no matter what, and I want to be proud of who I am and where I’m at today. Because if I’m not…I’m not going to be able to live in this moment. To have the ice cream cone if I want, to go out for a 10 mile run, to see food as fuel. Nope. Food isn’t my enemy. And my worth is not tied up in my food, in my weight, or in my ability to fit into a six 6. My worth is tied in how I feel. And I feel damn great.

Leave a Reply

